Baylor faculty celebrated as outstanding educational leaders

Baylor College of Medicine honored its top educational leaders at the Faculty Awards Day ceremony, held Thursday, May 17, in the College’s Cullen Auditorium.

“This is a special day at Baylor College of Medicine where we pause to acknowledge the outstanding work of faculty members, including our exceptional educational leaders, said Dr. Alicia Monroe, provost and senior vice president of academic and faculty affairs.

Presidential Awards

Dr. Geeta Singhal Das and Dr. Jim Walker with Corbin Robertson and Dr. Alicia Monroe.

Established in 1999, the Barbara and Corbin J. Robertson Jr. Presidential Award for Excellence in Education recognizes faculty members who have made long-standing, consistent and highly valued contributions to the educational mission of the College. Recipients become members of the Baylor Society of Presidential Educators and receive a crystal award and $10,000.

The 2018 recipients of the Robertson Presidential Award were Geeta Singhal Das, M.D., M.Ed., associate professor of pediatrics – hospital medicine, associate vice chair for education for the Department of Pediatrics and senior advisor for the Office of Faculty Development; and James Walker, D.N.P., director and associate professor of the Doctor of Nursing Practice Program – Nurse Anesthesia and associate professor of health professions.

McGovern Awards

Dr. Zaven Sargsyan and Dr. Lee Poythress with Dr. Alicia Monroe.

The McGovern Teaching Awards were established in 1986 and are determined by second-, third- and fourth-year medical students and based on outstanding teaching of preclinical, or foundational, and clinical medical school curriculum. The nominees are approved by the Faculty Awards Committee.

The 2018 recipients of the John P. McGovern Outstanding Teaching Award are Zaven Sargsyan, M.D., assistant professor of medicine – general medicine, for the foundational sciences, and Lee Poythress, M.D., associate professor of medicine – general medicine, for the clinical sciences.

Clark Faculty Service Award

Left to right, Sally Clark with Drs. Rochelle Dy, Shweta Dhar, Christine Beeton, Neal Barshes and Walter Douglas Appling.

Established in 2017, this award honors faculty members whose exemplary service with professionalism has not previously been recognized through an official award by the College. Recipients represent their professions and Baylor’s mission, vision and values at the highest level and have made significant, enduring contributions to the College.

Recipients for 2018 are Walter Appling, M.D., assistant professor of otolaryngology; Neal Barshes, M.D., M.P.H., associate professor of surgery; Christine Beeton, M.D., associate professor of molecular physiology and biophysics; Shweta Dhar, M.D., associate professor of molecular and human genetics; and Rochelle Dy, assistant professor of physical medicine and rehabilitation.

Norton Rose Fulbright Faculty Excellence Awards

The Norton Rose Fulbright Faculty Excellence Award provide an opportunity for Baylor faculty who meet designated standards of quality, quantity and breadth to receive recognition for their sustained exemplary educational contributions across all areas of the College. They were presented this year in three areas – teaching and evaluation, development of enduring educational materials and educational leadership.

See the full list of Norton Rose Fulbright award winners.