Gold Humanism induction recognizes compassion for patients

Medical students and residents at Baylor College of Medicine were honored in April for their commitment to humanism in patient care at the annual Gold Humanism Honor Society Induction Ceremony.

The Gold Humanism Honor Society is an international organization that recognizes, supports and promotes the values of humanism and professionalism in medicine. Established in 2002, it is named for Dr. Arnold P. Gold, a child neurologist at Columbia University, and its mission is to work within and beyond medical education to inspire, nurture and sustain lifelong advocates and activists for compassionate patient care.

The trainees shared reflections on what humanism and compassion means to them, offering impactful stories of their patient interactions. As part of the ceremony, they also recited the Gold Humanism Honor Society Oath, in which they pledged that they will:

  1. Care for my patients with compassion, respect, empathy, integrity and clinical excellence;
  2. Listen to my patients with my whole being;
  3. Advocate for each patient as a unique individual
  4. Serve as a role model and mentor to promote humanism in healthcare;
  5. Remember always the healing power of acts of caring;
  6. Dedicate myself to joining with others to make healthcare optimal for all.

Perhaps most meaningful is that inductees are nominated by their own peers. The Baylor chapter is led by Dr. Vandana Shah, assistant professor of medicine. The 2019 BCM Gold Humanism Honor Society inductees are:

Medical students:
  • Doha Kamel Aboul-Fotouh
  • Syed Altamash Ali
  • Azeen Anjum
  • Megan Michelle Blaney
  • Alexander Clifford Commanday
  • Maria Catalina Espinosa
  • Harish Eswaran
  • Rebecca Long Hetrick
  • Sally Huang
  • Suzette Ikejiani
  • Sirus Jonathan Jesudasen
  • Jennifer Marie Kaplan
  • Rachel Arielle Kaplan
  • Lien Le
  • Nhon Thanh Le
  • Zainab Mabizari
  • Kristen Mathias
  • Stephanie Moreno
  • Chinma Erika Onyewuenyi
  • Kristin Pascoe
  • Preeti Anita Prakash
  • Vignesh Ramachandran
  • Rachel Anne Scott
  • Nancy Claire Shenoi
  • Nathaniel Joseph Spezia-Lindner
  • Beverly Fonville Steele
  • Kelsey Ann Stewart
  • Kate Jordan Travis
  • Daniel Solomon Travis
  • Caroline Haley Walker
  • Daniel Dah-Jiun Wang


  • Eva Amenta, internal medicine
  • Jacqueline Birnbaum, internal medicine
  • Lisa Brubaker, general surgery
  • Elizabeth (Betsy) Cowell, pediatrics
  • Alex Cruz, orthopedic surgery
  • Brian Davis, orthopedic surgery
  • Paige Farinholt, internal medicine
  • Lauren (Ashley) Gabriel, pediatrics – San Antonio
  • David Jiang, internal medicine
  • Julika Kaplan, medicine-pediatrics
  • Lauren Kjolhede, pediatrics – San Antonio
  • William Lightle, general surgery
  • Mengyang (Jeff) Liu, emergency medicine
  • Steven Mehl, general surgery
  • Elaine Nguyen, internal medicine
  • Nehal Patel, internal medicine
  • Shreeya Popat, urology
  • Behnam (Ben) Sharareh, orthopedic surgery
  • Youmna Sherif, general surgery – Global Surgery Track
  • Allison Silverstein, pediatrics – Global Child Health
  • Aspinder Singh, general surgery
  • Laura Trujillo, general surgery
  • Marissa Witt-Doerring, psychiatry
  • Peter Yeh, physical medicine and rehabilitation