Trainee milestones: Match Day and Gold Humanism induction

Trainees at Baylor recently celebrated two milestone achievements — Match Day and induction into the Gold Humanism Honor Society.

Match Day

The luck of the Irish – and four years of hard work and dedication – was on the side of Baylor medical students on Match Day, the culmination of the annual National Resident Matching Program, which pairs fourth-year medical students with residency programs throughout the nation. This year, Match Day was held on St. Patrick’s Day.

Read more about Match Day and view photos.

Gold Humanism Honor Society

Before learning of their match, a group of 33 fourth-year medical students were inducted into the Gold Humanism Honor Society, along with 20 residents and one fellow. They were nominated by their peers as exemplifying the balance of academic and humanistic qualities in their practice of medicine and will join more than 350 members of the Society who have been inducted from Baylor since the 2008 inaugural class.

The ceremony included reflections from several inductees on what humanism means to them and the ceremony concluded with the recital of the Gold Humanism Honor Society Oath.

“To the first-year class, the Gold Foundation pin that you received at your White Coat Ceremony was given to you as a reminder to be altruistic and to be unrelentingly humanistic,” said fourth-year medical student and inductee Chloe Nunneley. “It will be less than a year before you can finally don that white coat in your clinical rotations. I promise, despite the endless demands and obstacles that you face, it will be less important to remember the pathology you have learned than it will be to remember that every patient has a unique story beyond that pathology.”

“Our duty is to care for others, but if we allow ourselves to, our patients and their families can also give us so much back,” reflected Dr. Moises Gallegos, an emergency medicine resident and one of the inductees.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This year’s medical student inductees included:

  • Sachin Allahabadi
  • Gabriela Michelle Austgen
  • Meagan Amelia Barry
  • Taylor Anne Beall
  • Cathryn Rene Cadwell
  • Kailey Daniele Caplan
  • Paul David Chamberlain
  • Arina Chesnokova
  • Natalie Craik
  • Timothy Mark Dale
  • Bradley Steven Daniels
  • Sydney Dittman
  • Timothy Nathan Dunn
  • Erin Flattery
  • Lee Salvador Haruno
  • Georgene Hergenroeder
  • Alexandra Hill
  • Tiffany Hsu
  • Haoxing (Douglas) Jin
  • Holland Manon Kaplan
  • Jaden Kohn
  • Jiwen Li
  • Cody Wayne Moore
  • Jaclyn Marie Munoz
  • Huy Duy Nguyen
  • Julie Kim Nguyen
  • Chloe Eleanor Nunneley
  • Valerie Peicher
  • Cameron Pywell
  • Murtaza Saifee
  • Zachary Lee Shepard
  • Meredith Kathrin Wise
  • Susan Xie

This year’s resident inductees included:

  • Dr. Dimpal Bhakta (medicine)
  • Dr. Susan Conway (emergency medicine)
  • Dr. Moises Gallegos (emergency medicine)
  • Dr. Paul George (pediatrics)
  • Dr. Thiago Halmer (emergency medicine)
  • Dr. Kim Hoang (pediatrics)
  • Dr. Michelle Hong (emergency medicine)
  • Dr. Mallory Kent (pediatrics)
  • Dr. David McCormick (medicine-pediatrics)
  • Dr. Valentine Millien (medicine)
  • Dr. Jonathan Paek (anesthesiology)
  • Dr. Vani Potluri (medicine)
  • Dr. Talha Qureshi (medicine)
  • Dr. Ranier Reyes (neurology)
  • Dr. Topaz Sampson (psychiatry)
  • Dr. Janis Sethness (medicine-pediatrics)
  • Dr. Mohita Singh (medicine)
  • Dr. Kevin Ting (medicine)
  • Dr. Megan Whitham (obstetrics and gynecology)
  • Dr. Joseph Witt-Doerring (psychiatry)

This year’s fellow inductees included:

  • Dr. Padma Swamy (academic general pediatrics)