Baylor’s newest NAS members honored at reception

Dr. Dora E. Angelaki, professor and Wilhelmina Robertson Chair in Neuroscience, and Dr. Martin M. Matzuk, director of the Center for Drug Discovery and vice chair of pathology & immunology, were the guests of honor at a reception honoring them and their elections into the National Academy of Sciences.

Drs. Paul Klotman, Dora Angelaki and Martin Matzuk

Drs. Paul Klotman, Dora Angelaki and Martin Matzuk

“This is one of the highest honors a scientist can receive, and two in one year greatly reflects the fantastic work being done here at Baylor,” said Dr. Paul Klotman, president, CEO and executive dean. “We are proud of them and their accomplishments that contribute tremendously to the science and scientific environment at the college.”

The two are among 84 new members from 15 countries recognized for their distinguished and continuing achievements in research. The formal induction was announced back in April.

“This is truly a dream come true for me and I am glad it happened at Baylor. Thank you for all the support and I hope to have more celebrations like this in the future for others who are here working hard,” Angelaki said.

“I owe thanks to my family, leaders and administration that have supported me and my work,” said Matzuk. “This honor is not only mine but it is shared with those in my lab and Baylor who have given phenomenal support through the years.”

Angelaki’s research focuses on understanding how multisensory information is processed, integrated and transformed into either commands for movement or perceptual decisions.

Matzuk’s research focuses on discovering the critical proteins and mechanisms involved in both normal and abnormal reproductive development.

There are now nine Baylor faculty members named to the Academy. Angelaki and Matzuk join Drs. Wah Chiu, the Alvin Romansky professor of biochemistry and molecular biology and director of the National Center for Macromolecular Imaging; Arthur Beaudet, professor of molecular and human genetics; Thomas Caskey, professor of molecular and human genetics; Mary Estes, professor of molecular virology and microbiology and medicine; Bert O’Malley, chair of molecular and cellular biology; Salih Wakil, professor of biochemistry and molecular biology; and Huda Zoghbi, professor of molecular and human genetics, pediatrics, neurology and neuroscience and director of the Jan and Dan Duncan Neurological Research Institute at Texas Children’s Hospital.