Baylor’s Faculty Senate works to close gaps in representation

In early August, an orientation was held to welcome Baylor College of Medicine’s newly elected 2025 Term Faculty Senators. The Faculty Senate represents the interests of Baylor faculty across all departments, centers, affiliates and schools.

The group’s goal is to provide a formal opinion on issues or policies that originate from faculty constituents directly, Senate committees, senators, the administration, Institutional Policy Committee, Academic Council and the Board of Trustees. The senate, comprised of 101 members, works with executive leadership, chairs, deans and center directors through shared governance and advocacy as a voice for the faculty.

Faculty Senate is on the same level as Academic Council in Baylor’s organizational chart, which lists the Board of Trustees at the top followed by the president, CEO and executive dean of the College.

Senators have five seats on Academic Council, as well as four on the Institutional Policy Committee. Every month, Senate leadership meets with Baylor’s executive leaders to learn new information, priorities and potential policy changes.

Faculty Senate new senators Aug. 2022

New Faculty Senators and leadership pose for a photo in front of the Michael E. DeBakey Library and Museum on Aug. 4, 2022.

The Senate has five committees: Strategic Planning, Faculty Affairs and Benefits, Curriculum and Educational Mission, Communications and Public Affairs and Administrative Operations. Senators are expected to participate actively in at least one committee during their tenure. Ad-hoc committees are formed for the constitutional review and annual elections processes.

Senate leadership is made up of a chair, chair-elect, secretary, basic sciences representative, clinical sciences representative and an executive liaison. For AY 22-23, Dr. Christie M. Lincoln will remain chair; Dr. Kim Worley is chair-elect; and Dr. Russell Ray is the basic sciences representative.

Incumbent Dr. Malvika Juneja is the new secretary, and Dr. Nicola “Nick” Hanania is the new clinical sciences representative.

By networking with constituents across departments and affiliates, senators advocate for administrative and operational processes that will benefit all faculty. Senators also work to mentor newer healthcare workers and researchers and to lead institutional inclusion and equity efforts.

Several senators participate in institutional committees outside of the Senate, including Academy of Distinguished Educators, Datathon Champions, Inclusion and Excellence Council, Technology Alliance, Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee and Faculty Appointment and Promotion.

To learn more, visit Faculty Senate or Faculty Senate on InTouch. For other questions, email

Faculty Senate leadership Aug. 2022

Faculty Senate leadership pose for a photo in front of the Michael E. DeBakey Library and Museum on Aug. 4, 2022. From left: Dr. Malvika Juneja, Dr. Kim Worley, Dr. Christie M. Lincoln, Dr. Nicola “Nick” Hanania, Dr. Russell Ray.

New 2025 Term Senators

Electoral Unit Senators (*=incumbent)

At-Large Senators

By Julie Garcia