Trainees and faculty exemplify physician excellence

Outstanding students, trainees and faculty were honored recently with induction into two honor societies – Alpha Omega Alpha and the Gold Humanism Society. These inductions recognize their commitment to compassionate care, service and other valued qualities that place them as leaders among their colleagues and peers.

Alpha Omega Alpha

Election to Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society is an honor signifying a lasting commitment to scholarship, leadership, professionalism and service. A lifelong honor, membership in the society confers recognition for a physician’s dedication to the profession and art of healing. Since the Baylor chapter’s inception in 1949, there have been more than 1,800 members inducted.

2020 Faculty inductees

Dr. Mahboob Alam, associate professor of medicine – cardiology; Dr. Benjamin Frankfort, associate professor of ophthalmology and neuroscience; Catherine Mary Gannon, assistant professor of pediatrics – neonatology; Dr. Ruben Hernaez, assistant professor of medicine – gastroenterology; Dr. Waleed Kayani; assistant professor of medicine – cardiology; Dr. Michelle Lopez, assistant professor of pediatrics – hospital medicine; Dr. Michelle Ludwig, associate professor of radiation oncology; Dr. David Netscher, professor of surgery – plastic surgery and orthopedic surgery; Dr. Timothy Porea, associate professor of Pediatrics – hematology and oncology; Dr. Alireza A. Shamshirsaz, associate professor of surgery and obstetrics/gynecology.

2020 Medical Student inductees

Hannah Abrams; Alexander Alexander; Berkay Basagaoglu; McKenna Boyd; Kaitlyn Carlson; Stephan Castellanos; Hongan Chen; Derrick Chu; Ziba Colah; Charles Difalco; Katherine Dong; Michael Duan; Amy Engler; Conrad Fernandes; Miguel Franquiz; Michael Gundry; Joanne Hsu; Meesha Khatker; Michelle Lee; Asad Loya; Heidi Martini-Stoica; Shiv Patel; Kelly Payne; Michael Pratt; Sean Rodriguez; Michelle Suh; Joy Tan; Mary Tillman; Reid Wilson; Junru Yan; Lin Zhu

2020 Resident and Fellow inductees

Dr. Ahmed S. Ansari; Dr. Lily Cheng; Dr. Auda Plaud Gonzalez; Dr. Hassan Kamran; Dr. Holland Kaplan; Dr. Marina Masciale, Dr. Komal Muradali; Dr. Sayna Norouzi; Dr. Aniket Rali; Dr. Mahmoud Al Rifai; Dr. Arindam Sarkar; Dr. Fabio Nascimento Silva; Dr. Visish Srinivasan; Dr. Kevin Wang; Dr. Peter Yeh

Gold Humanism Honor Society

The Gold Humanism Honor Society is an international organization that recognizes, supports and promotes the values of humanism and professionalism in medicine. Established in 2002, it is named for Dr. Arnold P. Gold, a child neurologist at Columbia University, and its mission is to work within and beyond medical education to inspire, nurture and sustain lifelong advocates and activists for compassionate patient care.

2020 Medical Student inductees

Hannah Abrams; Elizabeth Adams; Andrew Bratsman; Amanda Broderick; Luis Cartagenova; Jose Dominguez; Julie Dorland; Leah Douglas; Amy Engler; Heather Haeberle; Frances Hessel; Dima Jaraki; Sharwin Khot; Kallie Kram; Sarah McGriff; Jasmine Moreno; David Oleson; Michael Pratt; Joy Tan; Vanessa Uma; Victoria Valdes; Ruifei Wang; Sally Huang; Zainab Mabizari; Chinma Onyewuenyi

2020 Resident inductees

Dr. Nikita Consul, diagnostic radiology; Dr. Katherine Dowdell, emergency medicine; Dr. Ali El-Halwagi, mediine; Dr. Alexis Gomez, medicine-pediatrics; Dr. Christopher Nemeh, medicine; Dr. Robert Ricketts, global health and anesthesia; Dr. Arindam Sarkar, family and community medicine; Dr. Matthew Sattler, pediatrics (San Antonio), Dr. Ting Gou, psychiatry; Dr. Melissa LoPresti, neurosurgery; Dr. Lily Luk, family and community medicine; Dr. Elizabeth Thoyakulathu, family and community medicine; Dr. Meredith Ventura, medicine; Dr. Leslie Ynalvez, medicine

2020 Fellow inductees

Dr. Kathleen Kollitz Jegapragasan, orthopedic hand surgery; Dr. Jaime Silva-Gburek, pediatric critical care; Dr. Ahmed Salem, medicine critical care, Dr. Raphael Sun, pediatric surgery; Dr. Lauren Williams, pediatric critical care; Dr. Jean Woo, brain injury medicine