Women of Excellence recognized

For their leadership, mentorship and commitment to their own fields of study and to the mission of the College, women from across Baylor College of Medicine, including faculty, staff and trainees, have earned Women of Excellence Awards.

Baylor College of Medicine Women of Excellence awardees.

Now in its second year, the award program and keynote talk was held Thursday, March 28, in Cullen Auditorium and Rayzor Lounge. This year, allies who support women at Baylor in their roles also were honored.

“On behalf of Dr. Klotman and the leadership at Baylor College of Medicine, I have the distinct honor to recognize the second annual Women of Excellence honorees,” said Dr. Alicia Monroe, provost and senior vice president of academic and faculty affairs. “It’s important that we celebrate the unique and significant contributions of so many members of our community. This year, we have added allies, and we thank them for their support and mentorship. It’s appropriate that we have students, staff, faculty and trainees who have received these awards.”

Dr. Brendan Lee, chair and professor of molecular and human genetics at Baylor, introduced keynote speaker Dr. Hannah Valantine, chief officer for scientific workforce diversity at the NIH. In her talk, Valantine took a scientific approach to looking at the issue of diversity and inclusion in science, highlighting the innovative thinking and better outcomes made possible by building diversity. Learn more about the NIH Scientific Diversity Office, and view the diversity blog where Valantine tackles many of the topics she discussed in her Baylor talk.

The Women of Excellence Awards are a program of Baylor’s Office of Institutional Diversity, Inclusion and Equity. See the full list of award recipients.

-By Dana Benson