Spotlight: Jesse Gavin

Every month we focus on an outstanding staff member of the BCM Family. This month, it’s Jesse Gavin with Human Resources.

Do you know of a Baylor staff member who exemplifies our values of Respect, Integrity, Innovation, Teamwork and Excellence (RIITE)? Nominate him or her to be featured in Spotlight by emailing Dana Benson at

Name: Jesse Gavin

Title: Wellness Team Lead

Department: Human Resources – Wellness

How long have you been at BCM? It will be 4 years in July.

Jesse Gavin on the kids bike he rode in last year’s MS 150, proving people with any type of equipment can participate in the event!

What’s your favorite thing about working at BCM? Being in wellness, I love having access to all the resources and great minds here at BCM. I am able to stay informed with all the current research regarding health and well-being, some of which is happening right here at Baylor!

Where were you born? I was born in Florissant, Mo., which is a small suburb outside of St. Louis, and grew up in a small town in Illinois.

What is your favorite kind of food? Sushi!! I could eat it every day because of the variety.

What is your favorite restaurant in Houston, and at that restaurant your favorite dish? I live in Clear Lake so I would have to say Nobi Public House or Dan’s Pizza in that area. At Nobi they have a dish called “Bi’s Curry,” which is very good. After a day of working out, I will get the “Ultimeat” from Dan’s – it has 10 different meat toppings!

What’s on your music playlist? I listen to Pandora a lot so Needtobreathe, AC/DC, DJ Snake, Trans-Siberian Orchestra, 2000s and 90s pop, Blues Traveler, Sublime, AAR, Train, Ed Sheeran … I like all varieties of music.

What is your dream vacation? I would love to see more of the world, so one that would take me to all the “Wonders of the World” or biggest landmarks.

What is your favorite TV show? I do not watch very much TV but my guilty pleasure that I watch on Facebook every Sunday is “Ball in the Family.” The last series I watched was “The Great British Baking Show.”

Complete this sentence: Most people wouldn’t know that I … am 33. Most people think I am way younger than I really am (and that is with the little facial hair I can grow; if I shave people think I am in my early 20s).

What are some of your personal hobbies? Anything outdoors, being active, CrossFit. I don’t do it very often, but I also enjoy arts and crafts.

Last book you read? I believe the last book I read in its entirety was “Freakonomics.”

Last movie you saw? “Black Panther,” and ready for “Avengers: Infinity War” in April

Any kids? Pets? I do not have any kids but have adopted my girlfriend’s dog and cat as my own.

Favorite food on campus? Yogurt parfait

Favorite BCM/Medical Center hangout? I like to hangout in the courtyard at the main campus.