Annual event showcases education projects at Baylor

Baylor Educational Showcase

From left to right, Showcase chair David Young, winners Diana Whitney, Dr. Anita Mantha and Rachel Taylor, and Dr. Allison Pritchett, Showcase co-chair.

Education at Baylor was the focus of the 10th annual Baylor College of Medicine Academy of Distinguished Educators Showcase of Educational Scholarship. Held Sept. 25, the event featured 29 posters representing several departments, including medicine, pediatrics, radiology, psychiatry and obstetrics and gynecology as well as the School of Medicine.

Three posters were selected as Showcase finalists by a panel of educational scholars from Baylor, Rice University and UT Houston. The finalists and their projects were:

Dr. Anita Mantha, Kristen Beckworth, John Ansiaux, Carol Chen, Shabana Yusuf, Benjamin Hoffman, Rohit Shenoi, “SAFE-SEAT: An Education Program on Child Passenger Safety for Pediatric Residents”

Joseph Matthew Armstrong, Rachel Ann Taylor and Diana L. Whitney, all fourth-year medical students, Jaden R. Kahn, Dr. Anne Gill, “Between a Rock and a Hard Place: Medical Student Perspectives on Professionalism Reporting”

Dr. Kathryn K. Ostermaier, Dr. Renee Rodrigues, Robert G. Voigt, “Teaching Developmental-Behavioral Pediatrics to Residents: Building a Foundation and Strengthening Knowledge Through the Use of a Longitudinal Curriculum”

View the winning posters online.

“The Showcase created an excellent venue to learn about many scholarly educational projects occurring at Baylor and the opportunity to engage with other educators across the institution,” said Dr. Geeta Singal, director of the Office of Faculty Development.

Dr. David Young, associate professor of pediatrics – anesthesiology, served as chair of the Showcase of Educational Scholarship and Dr. Allison Pritchett, assistant professor of medicine – cardiology, as co-chair. Dr. Teri Turner, associate professor of pediatrics, is chair of the Academy of Distinguished Educators.