Medical students, residents inducted into honor society

Select Baylor College of Medicine fourth-year medical students and residents were recently inducted into the Gold Humanism Honor Society, an international organization that recognizes, supports and promotes the values of humanism and professionalism in medicine.The society, established in 2002, is named for Dr. Arnold P. Gold, a child neurologist at Columbia University, and its mission is to work within and beyond medical education to inspire, nurture and sustain lifelong advocates and activists for compassionate patient care. Students and residents are nominated by their peers and then selected through a faculty review.

The event consisted of remarks by Dr. Stephen B. Greenberg, senior vice president and dean of medical education, as well as reflections from several medical student inductees in which they gave examples of what it means to be compassionate as a physician. Fourth-year medical student Shamaila Khawja discussed how she learned that for patients, their diagnosis never leaves them – although their treatment has a fixed day and time, the healing does not. She reminded students and residents that their role as a doctor includes their role as a human being.

The ceremony concluded with a pledge to uphold humanistic principles.

This year’s medical school inductees included: Michael Abers, Lauren Anderson, Danielle Applebaum, James Astin, Kelly Aylsworth, John Berens, Amelia Crawford, Rachel Davis, Neha Deshpande, Martin Duncan, Richard Fantus, Kimberley Farr, Paul Fischbuch, Daniele Gusland, Eric Hamill, Kristy Hamilton, Brittany Hodgson, Abhinav Khanna, Shumaila Khawja, Laura Knott, Justin Lantz, Mary Lomax, Zheng Ma, Thomas McCarty, Sarah Miletello, Chaya Murali, Joseph Nelson, Mitchell Peterson, Dennis Shung, Joshua Turkeltaub, Brittany Wise, Kylene Wood, Joshua Woolard and Nader Zamani.

This year’s resident inductees included: Tolulope Adebanjo, Eric Bilby, Ozlem Bilen, Alyssa Brown, Cindy Cedillo-Ruiz, Aravind Chandrashekar, Bryan Correa, Jonathan Hagedorn, Tara Harris, Bashar Ismail, Yoav Kaufman, Elizabeth Keating, Paul Kwak, Hai Le, Margaret Markham, Laura Medford-Davis, Zeyad Metwalli, Brenda Moore, Petra Pilgrim, Karen Sargent, Nathan Serazin, Joshua Thomas, Sergio Torres, Pablo Tovar, Amy Vyas, Joel Zarline and Benjamin Zellner.

The activity of the GHHS Chapter at BCM is enhanced by the Baker Hughes Resident Humanistic Care Award, which is presented each year to a graduating resident who models humanistic care throughout his or her residency.

As a part of their induction, medical students are required to organize service projects. This year’s group of inductees selected the following organizations:

Angela’s House ( – an organization that helps successfully transition women into society after incarceration. Students will work to beautify the facilities and provide educational courses to the women.

Gold Closet Initiative – a sponsored clothing drive to stock a closet in the Ben Taub Emergency Center for patients whose clothing is too damaged to wear when they are discharged. Clothing donations may be dropped off at the student lounge in the bin labeled “Gold Closet.”

Reach Out and Read ( – an organization of medical providers who promote early literacy and school readiness in pediatric exam rooms nationwide by giving new books to children and advice to parents about the importance of reading aloud. Students are collecting new and gently used books, which can be dropped off at the Education Resource Center on the second floor of the DeBakey building. Monetary donations for new books are being accepted in the Undergraduate Medical Education office. Suggested donation is $5, which will purchase a book for a younger child or contribute to the purchase of a chapter book for an older child.